Posted by: ourtravelingcircus | June 26, 2010

Salzburg toy museum

John and Tim are still recovering from the twenty mile, so once again the girls and I went off for a day and left them home. There’s a toy museum in Salzburg we wanted to see. I enjoyed it at least as much as the kids did. Before we could go in, however, we were distracted by a flea market all along the portico outside. I don’t think Tim appreciates my restraint. I could have spent a lot of money there.

Growing up, I loved a book called The Doll’s House by Rumer Godden. I read it over and over again. The main character in the story was a doll named Tottie that looked just like one of these. She was a Dutch two-penny doll.

According to the placard next to this little vignette, it was considered allowable for children to “play” mass, as long as the toys weren’t consecrated.

I have a weakness for Christmas markets. The girls were embarrassed by my exclamations over this one and quietly moved down the hall ahead of me.

Margaret and Elizabeth loved this play grocery.

The forerunner of Lego. Photo credit to Katherine.

All in all, a bargain for the $6.50 it cost for the four of us to go in.

Responses

  1. Very cool! I LOVE the grocery!


Leave a Reply

Categories

