Posted by: ourtravelingcircus | June 10, 2015

The Loveno Gondola

From the harbor at Intra, we noticed what seemed to be an enormous house sitting by itself on top of the mountain across the lake at Loveno. Tim bought monthlong passes on the ferry, so we take it often as it’s always something to do to cool off or pass time. On one of our trips, we realized that this “house” was actually a gondola station. The next day the kids and I took it up the mountain.

I have a problem with heights, and I have to admit that after jumping in this waist-high open bucket, I had a couple moments of regret and terror. I closed my eyes, opened them, had a little freak out, and closed them again. Going up was not a completely smooth process but included a lot of stops and starts and some violent lurching. When I opened my eyes again, the view was so completely stunning that I couldn’t help praising God. What a masterful Creator he is. Nobody else could hear me, but after a verse or two of How Great Thou Art, all my fear was gone. I was in awe all the way to the top.

“When through the woods and forest glades I wander,
And hear the birds sing sweetly in the trees,
When I look down from lofty mountain grandeur
And hear the brook, and feel the gentle breeze.
Then sings my soul, my Savior, God to Thee,
How great Thou art! How great Thou art!

IMG_0679-1.JPG

IMG_0664-1.JPG

IMG_0605-1.JPG

Leave a Reply

Categories

